As at July 2022, BILNAS Officers and Council were as follows:


President: Professor Nicholas Barton BA, DEA, DPhil, FSA
Vice President: Professor Graeme Barker CBE FBA FSA FRGS
Director: Professor Corisande Fenwick BA MA PhD FSA FrHistS
Honorary Treasurer: Oliver Kimberley ACA, MA
Assistant Director: Dr Nichole Sheldrick MA DPhil
Head of Mission: Professor Paul Bennett MBE BA Hon DLitt FSA MCIFA
Honorary Collections Officer: Dr Valeria Vitale MA, PhD


Professor David Atkinson BsC PhD
Salem Elmaiar MPhil FRGS
Professor Hisham Matar FRSL
Dr Barbara Spadaro PhD

General Secretary: Pauline Graham
Honorary Librarian: Dawn Wright BA DiplLib
Publications Manager: Dr Victoria Leitch BA MPhil DPhil

Research Grants Committee

The Director
The Honorary Treasurer
The Assistant Director
Head of Mission
Professor Alice Stevenson PhD, FSA (Committee Chair)
Dr Tim Reynolds, BA, MA, PhD, FSA

Publications Committee

The Director
The Honorary Treasurer
The Assistant Director
The General Secretary
Editor of BILNAS Journal
Publications Manager
Professor Jonathan Hill

The BILNAS President is elected at the Annual General Meeting for a term of four years; the Director is elected for a period of three years, which may be extended to a maximum of five years; the Assistant Director, the Treasurer, the Head of Mission and the Editor of the BILNAS Journal, are elected annually and may be re-elected without limit; the remainder of the Council is composed of up to eight Ordinary Members who are elected annually and may be re-elected, subject to a maximum continuous period of service of four years. In proposing Ordinary Members for election, the Council seeks to secure as wide a range of skills within its fields of interest as possible.

For further information about the make-up of the Institute or to reach individual Officers or members of the Council, in the first instance, please contact:

Mrs Pauline Graham, General Secretary
The British Institute for Libyan & Northern African Studies
c/o British Academy
10-11 Carlton House Terrace
London SW1Y 5AH
Email: [email protected]